Embassy of Ukraine to Japan

, Kyiv 09:51

Cooperation within the framework of GUAM Organization for Democracy and Economic Development

The Organization for Democracy and Economic Development - GUAM is an international regional organization that was founded on 10 October 1997 by the Republic of Azerbaijan, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine and created on 23 May 2006.

The Organization performs all its tasks operating within the international system, both at the regional and international levels in accordance with the statutory documents – Charter of Organization for democracy and economic development – GUAM, Joint Declaration, signed on 23 May 2006 at the GUAM summit in Kyiv, other GUAM documents and agreements.

According to the GUAM’s Charter the main objectives of the Organization are: promoting democratic values, ensuring rule of law and respect of human rights; ensuring sustainable development; strengthening international and regional security and stability; deepening European integration for the establishment of common security space, and expansion of cooperation in economic and humanitarian spheres; development of social and economic, transport, energy, scientific and technical, and humanitarian potential of the Parties; intensification of political interaction and practical cooperation in the fields of mutual interest.

The Organization is promoting and intensifying the development of sectoral cooperation in accordance with its main objectives within the framework of the GUAM Working Groups on: economy and trade, transportation, energy cooperation and energy security, information technology, education and science, combating terrorism and organized crime, emergency prevention and mitigation.

With assistance of the GUAM Parliamentary Assembly the Organization is promoting cooperation in the legislative sphere and interaction between the parliaments of GUAM member-states and cooperation between the GUAM Parliamentary Assembly and the Parliamentary Assemblies of other international organisations, in particular the Baltic Sea Parliamentary Assembly, the Parliamentary Assemblies of the OSCE, the Council of Europe, and the European Parliament.

In order to develop political dialogue on a wide range of issues regarding international cooperation the Organization aimed at developing cooperation with partner countries, which is organised and conducted at the level of GUAM Council, regular meetings of the “GUAM+” format, particularly GUAM-US and GUAM-Japan.

Particular attention is paid to developing dialogue with the European Union, in particular, with the countries participating in the Eastern Partnership.

The main body of Organization is the Council, which carries out its work on the level of the Heads of State (summit), the Ministers for Foreign Affairs, National Coordinators and Permanent Representatives.

The Secretariat provides organizational and technical support for GUAM activities, situated in Kyiv. Its official inauguration was held on 26 February 2009.

The Chairmanship in GUAM is held by one of the Member States, as a rule, for one year term, based on the principle of rotation in accordance with the names of the Member States in the order of English alphabet.

On 1 January 2015 started the Presidency of Ukraine.

Ukraine’s Chairmanship program envisages strengthening of the Member States political interaction, taking coordinated measures for security its sovereignty and territorial integrity. 

Consular section of the Embassy of Ukraine in Japan
Chief: Natalia Kovaliova
Second Secretary Consular issues
Phone: +81 (3) 5474 9773
Fax: +81 (3) 5474 9772
Email: emb_jp@mfa.gov.ua

Office hours: Mon., Tue., Thu., Fri., 9.30 - 12.00



Holidays 2018 in Ukraine:

· January 1 - New Year's Day 

· January 7 - Orthodox Christmas (The Consular Office will not operate on January 8)*

· March 8 - Women’s Day (The Consular Office will not operate on March 9)* 

· April 8 - Easter (The Consular Office will not operate on April 9)*

· May 1 - Labor Day (The Consular Office will not operate on April 30)* 

· May 9 - Victory Day 

· May 28 - Trinity Day 

· June 28 - Constitution Day (The Consular Office will not operate on June 29)*

· August 24 - Ukrainian Independence Day 

· October 14 - Defender of Ukraine Day (The Consular Office will not operate on October 15)*

· December 25 - Christmas

* Holidays are often celebrated for several days, depending on when the holiday falls. For example, if a holiday falls on Thursday, then Friday and Saturday may also be holidays. If a holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, then Monday is considered a holiday as well.